FROM THE SCSO
COLD CASE FILES
On May 2, 1979, the skeletal remains of 19 year old Virginia Mary Ries were discovered in a wooded median strip on Interstate 75 just north of Exit 309 in Webster, Florida. Virginia Ries was last seen leaving her mother's home located in Punta Gorda, Flori...
Traffic crash reports can be obtained online!
Click on the button above for more information.
Effective July 28, 2017 the Sumter County Sheriff's Office will begin issuing county parking citations.
A Copy of the County Ordinance is available here (PDF).
The Plea of Not Guilty to contest a citation is available here (PDF).
The current fine amounts are as follows:
|Fire Hydrant and fire lane/zone violations||$35|
|All other violations||$25|
Please see the Frequently Asked Questions section below. We've included answers to numerous questions to assist you with this new process.
I've received a parking citation, what now?
Any person issued a county citation pursuant to this section may, within ten (10) days of issuance of the citation:
Pay the civil penalty, either by mail or in person; or
Contest the citation in county court
Who do I make my check or money order payable to?
*Payments that will be mailed can be sent to the Sumter County Sheriff's Office at the address below. Do NOT send cash. If you would like to pay in cash that can be done in person at one of our locations listed in question 3.
Checks or money orders can be made payable to:
Sumter County Sheriff's Office
Attention: Records Division
7361 Powell Rd, Wildwood, FL 34785
Where can I go to make my payment?
Payments in person can be made at either of the following locations:
Sumter County Sheriff's Office-Villages Annex
8033 E C-466
Lady Lake, FL 32159
Sumter County Sheriff's Office
7361 Powell Rd
Wildwood, FL 34785
Do you accept credit cards?
No, we do not accept credit card payments.
How many days do I have to make a payment? What happens if I don't make the payment on time?
Payments are due within ten (10) days of receiving the citation. Persons failing to pay the civil penalty or contest the citation in county court,
either by mail or in person, will have a late payment charge imposed and be deemed to have waived any right to contest the citation. A notice at time of
issuance shall advise the owner that failure to pay the fine plus the late payment charge of $10.00 within 24 days of the receipt of the citation shall
result in the matter being transferred to the county court for further proceedings. The notice shall also advise that owner that any right to contest
the citation has been waived and that failure to pay the amount due may result in the imposition of a
fine by the court not to exceed $500.00 and in a hold being put on the further issuances of driver's licenses and registrations to the owner.
What do I do if I want to contest the citation?
You can choose to contest the citation by filling out Plea of Not Guilty and turned in to the Sumter County Sheriff's Office.
The forms are available on the Sumter County Sheriff's website or at either office location